On September 3, 2026, Microsoft announced that starting in November it will end unlimited cloud gaming under Xbox Game Pass, introducing a monthly cap of 15 hours even for the top-tier Ultimate plan. People who play for long stretches on smartphones or TVs will need to purchase additional playtime on top of their monthly subscription fee. At the same time, Microsoft is introducing a new option that lets people who don't subscribe to Game Pass pay for cloud time to play compatible games they already own. The impact of this change will differ sharply between those who use cloud gaming as their daily console substitute and those who use it occasionally, such as while out and about.
What does 15 hours a month mean if you play every day?
Starting in November, the monthly cloud playtime included with Game Pass will be 15 hours for Ultimate, 10 hours for Premium, and 5 hours for Essential. Once that allotment is used up, additional time can be purchased through the Xbox Store. Pricing and purchase units for extra time have not yet been announced.
If you spread that allotment evenly across a 30-day month, it works out to 30 minutes a day for Ultimate, 20 minutes for Premium, and 10 minutes for Essential.
| Game Pass Plan | Monthly Cloud Cap at Time of Announcement | Monthly Included Hours From November | Daily Equivalent (÷30 days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ultimate | None | 15 hours | 30 minutes |
| Premium | None | 10 hours | 20 minutes |
| Essential | None | 5 hours | 10 minutes |
This daily figure is calculated by multiplying the monthly hours by 60 minutes and dividing by 30 days. It's not a rule that limits play to that amount every single day—users could presumably save up their hours and use them all on a weekend. But as a daily habit, even the top-tier plan doesn't leave much room to spare.
For example, playing one hour a day for 30 days adds up to 30 hours a month. That exceeds the included allotment by 15 hours for Ultimate, 20 hours for Premium, and 25 hours for Essential. Determining which plan offers the best value will require adding the subscription fee to the cost of purchasing extra hours. Since the pricing structure for additional time hasn't been revealed yet, that total cost can't be calculated at this stage.
The cap applies specifically to cloud play. The announcement does not state that time spent playing Game Pass titles downloaded to a console or PC will count toward the 15-hour monthly limit. Microsoft's existing usage guides have also treated cloud streaming and local downloads as separate modes of play.
Behind the cap: a 45% surge in usage and the cost of streaming
In November 2025, Microsoft reported that cloud playtime among Game Pass subscribers had grown 45% year over year. The company also said it had expanded regional servers in countries like Argentina and Brazil to meet demand and reduce wait times. That growth in usage came hand in hand with expanded streaming infrastructure.
The following month, in December, Microsoft's official guide explicitly stated that cloud gaming was available without limits across all tiers, from Essential to Ultimate. The new monthly caps represent a rollback of that previous benefit. A service that had been expanding where people could play—to smartphones and compatible TVs—will now ask heavy users to pay extra based on how much time they use.
Microsoft's stated rationale is that as the number of users and hours played increases, so does the cost of providing the service. The company says the caps are meant to sustain the service and continue investing in reliability and performance. It also acknowledged that for some players, this amounts to a real increase in cost. However, Microsoft has not disclosed a breakdown of these costs, and there's no evidence tying this change directly to any specific component shortage or competition for resources with AI infrastructure.
Microsoft estimates that the change will affect "4% of Game Pass subscribers." This figure needs to be read carefully—it's not a percentage of cloud gaming users specifically, but of all Game Pass subscribers.
The impact will differ significantly between people who mainly download and play on console or PC versus those who primarily use cloud streaming. A small percentage among all subscribers doesn't mean the increased cost will be rare among the subset of people who rely on cloud gaming daily. Microsoft has not published an impact percentage specific to cloud users, nor the usage distribution data behind its calculation.
Even without Game Pass, you can now pay by the hour to play games you own
Another change launching in November is the ability to purchase cloud playtime without a Game Pass subscription. Using hours purchased through the Xbox Store, players will be able to stream eligible games they already own to compatible devices.
The right to play a game and the time needed to run it via the cloud are now separate things. Buying hours doesn't grant access to the full Game Pass library, and not every game you own will necessarily be eligible for cloud streaming. Users will need to check in advance whether the title they want to play is supported.
For people who already own games and only want to use cloud streaming occasionally—say, during travel or a visit home—this offers a new option, and it fits demand from those who want to avoid an ongoing subscription. However, whether pay-per-hour ends up cheaper than a monthly subscription can't be determined until pricing is announced.
Meanwhile, for people who use a TV or smartphone as their primary gaming device, there's no easy way around the reduced time allotment. Those who own a compatible console or PC can shift long play sessions to their own hardware, but those without one don't have that option. If avoiding extra fees means buying a console, that reopens the entire cost comparison that originally led someone to choose cloud gaming in the first place.
Microsoft itself has emphasized that Xbox One owners can play Xbox Series X|S-compatible titles via the cloud without rushing to upgrade their hardware. The benefit of keeping initial hardware costs low remains intact. In exchange, users now need to more carefully estimate the ongoing cost of extended play.
How does this compare to GeForce NOW, especially after hitting the cap?
NVIDIA's GeForce NOW also imposes monthly playtime limits, but according to its official FAQ, Performance and Ultimate tiers include 100 hours per month, with up to 15 unused hours rolling over to the next month. Furthermore, once that included time is used up, users can either purchase more or continue playing under conditions similar to the free tier, using the standard rig.
| Comparison Point | Xbox Cloud Gaming (Announced, Effective November) | GeForce NOW Performance/Ultimate |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly included hours | 5–15 hours depending on Game Pass plan | 100 hours |
| Rollover of unused hours | Not mentioned in this announcement | Up to 15 hours carried to next month |
| After hours are used up | Additional hours can be purchased | Purchase more, or continue at free-tier-equivalent level |
| Access to games | Titles included in Game Pass, or eligible owned games | Generally games owned via supported stores; free-to-play titles also supported |
Comparing the two services reveals a difference not just in the amount of included time, but in whether there's a way to keep playing for free after that time runs out. Xbox's current announcement doesn't mention a continuation option similar to GeForce NOW's. That said, this shouldn't be read as the end of all free streaming access on Xbox.
This table compares time limits and usage conditions—it is not a comparison of identical pricing or identical picture quality. Game Pass is a subscription that includes access to a game library among other things, and its terms around eligible titles and rights differ from GeForce NOW's. It would be premature to judge overall value between the two services based on monthly hours alone.
Users in Japan won't be able to make an informed decision until pricing for additional hours in yen, along with domestic terms of service, are made available. Microsoft has indicated that purchase methods and features may vary by region, and has promised pre-change pricing guidance along with detailed information in November. The specific effective date and how hour resets will work also remain unclear from this announcement.
Once pricing is released, it would be worth applying it to your typical monthly cloud gaming hours. For light use, purchasing hours without a subscription could become a viable option; for heavy use, the combined cost of Game Pass plus additional hours will be the deciding factor. How much of the console-free advantage remains will become clear once that total cost is known.
